Archives for 2021 Road To Indy Presented by Cooper Tires Coverage

Toby Sowery Joins Juncos Racing for the 2021 Indy Lights Championship

Toby Sowery celebrates his first Indy Lights win at Portland International Raceway in 2019 (Photo Courtesy Of Andersen Promotions)

Indianapolis, Indiana (January 21, 2021) –Juncos Racing is pleased to announce Toby Sowery has joined the team for the 2021 Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires season. Sowery is the second driver announced to the two-time Indy Lights champion team.

Sowery, of Cambridgeshire in the United Kingdom, will return to the final step of Road To Indy after previously competing in the Indy Lights series during the 2019 season. Sowery’s successful year included one win and seven podiums, finishing third overall in one of the most highly competitive fields in the Indy Lights series.
“To sign with a championship winning team like Juncos Racing is an exciting opportunity for me and to be able to announce it so early in the year is going to be a great help to prepare for the season ahead,” said Sowery. “I know the team can help me build on my previous experience and work together to challenge for the title this season. The team has proven themselves by winning the championship in different series, so I am very enthusiastic about our partnership and I can’t wait to get behind the wheel again!”
Team Owner Ricardo Juncos said, “We are really looking forward to working with an experienced driver like Toby. I have been watching his progress and he has continued to grow each year, in particular in 2019, so we look to build on this progress and take it in to this season. Toby is not only a great addition to our team, a proven winner in Indy Lights, but as a person we look forward to working and competing with him and making the most of the 2021 after a difficult 2020.”
The 2021 Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires season kicks off alongside the NTT INDYCAR SERIES April 9-11th at Barber Motorsports Park located near Birmingham, Alabama.
Source: Juncos Racing PR

Road To Indy adjusts early 2021 calendar – adds Indy Lights to Barber Motorsports Park

Indy Pro 2000 at Barber Motorsports Park ((Photo Courtesy Of Andersen Promotions)

By Steve Wittich

Due to the ongoing global pandemic, the 2021 Road To Indy Presented by Cooper Tires schedule will see some adjustments.

The traditional season opener in St. Petersburg, Fla. has been moved to the weekend of April 24-25, making the event at Barber Motorsports Park on the weekend of April 10-11 the season opener for all three steps on the Road To Indy ladder.

When the original Indy Lights presented by Cooper Tires schedule was announced, the top-level junior open-wheel category still had one event to be announced. Today’s calendar adjustment includes the addition of an Indy Lights doubleheader to the Barber Motorsports Park event, filling out the 20 race Indy Lights schedule.

Spring training for USF2000, Indy Pro 2000, and Indy Lights was set for Homestead-Miami Speedway in late February but will be rescheduled for late March or early April.

“It’s inevitable in these current times that changes will be necessary, and it is good to be able to distribute the news early, so everyone has a chance to plan appropriately,” said Dan Andersen, Owner, and CEO of Andersen Promotions. “With the adjustment to the St. Petersburg race dates, it makes the most sense to move our Spring Training to a more appropriate time closer to the start of the season.

“We looked at several options to fill the two-race TBA on the Indy Lights schedule, and are excited to share that the series will return to Barber Motorsports Park, which will now feature all three levels of the Road to Indy. I would like to thank George Dennis for being able to accommodate all of our series on a popular and action-packed race weekend.”