Sting Ray Robb during the Indy Lights portion of the Chris Griffis Memorial Test at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway (Photo Courtesy of Penske Entertainment)

The second day of Indy Lights presented by Cooper Tires team testing at the race track that began life as Hendricks Army Airfield ended with a new driver topping the timesheet. Series returnee Sting Ray Robb, who made a move to Andretti Autosport in the offseason, was the quickest of the 13 drivers, turning a fast lap at 55.890 seconds.

During yesterday’s action on the 1.7-mile circuit Sebring International Raceway “short course,” the top six drivers were within a second of the best lap time; today, it was the top ten that ended the day with 0.5 seconds of leader Robb.

The one thing that didn’t change from the first day of Indy Lights testing was the even split between HMD Motorsports / Global Racing Group and Andretti Autosport among the top six.

With the 2020 Indy Pro 2000 champion leading the way, Andretti Autosport grabbed the top spot, followed within one-tenth of a second by fellow series veteran HMD Motorsports’ Danial Frost.

Benjamin Pedersen (Global Racing Group w/ HMD), who topped yesterday’s timesheet, had the third quickest time. Hunter McElrea (Andretti Autosport), the only true rookie in the top six, was joined by his veteran teammate Matthew Brabham and HMD Motorsports’ Manuel Sulaiman, who made six Indy Lights starts at the end of the 2021 season.

The baker’s dozen pilots completed 1,251 laps of running on the track that features concrete patches, plenty of bumps, 90-degree corners, and best mimics a street course. TJ Speed Motorsports rookie Kyffin Simpson was the busiest driver, completing 130 circuits of the 1.7-mile circuit.

Unofficial times from day #2 of Indy Lights presented by Cooper Tires team testing at Sebring International Raceway

1 Sting Ray Robb Andretti Autosport 55.890 99
2 Danial Frost HMD Motorsports 55.990 -0.100 79
3 Benjamin Pedersen Global Racing Group w/ HMD Motorsports 56.034 -0.144 92
4 Hunter McElrea Andretti Autosport 56.035 -0.145 106
5 Matthew Brabham Andretti Autosport 56.095 -0.205 112
6 Manuel Sulaiman HMD Motorsports 56.116 -0.226 96
7 Kyffin Simpson TJ Speed Motorsports 56.169 -0.279 130
8 Christian Rasmussen Andretti Autosport 56.229 -0.339 117
9 Ernie Francis, Jr. HMD Motorsports 56.239 -0.349 104
10 Artem Petrov TJ Speed Motorsports 56.374 -0.484 103
11 Jacob Abel Abel Motorsports 56.581 -0.691 105
12 Christian Bogle HMD Motorsports 56.697 -0.807 97
13 James Roe TJ Speed Motorsports