Christian Rasmussen during the Chris Griffis Memorial Test (Photo Courtesy of Penske Entertainment)

The reigning Indy Pro 2000 Champion, Christian Rasmussen, will join Andretti Autosport for the 2022 Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires season. Rasmussen looks to claim his third consecutive Road to Indy championship after being crowned back-to-back champion in 2020 in the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship and in 2021 with the Indy Pro 2000 Presented by Cooper Tires Championship.

“We are thrilled to have Christian joining our 2022 Indy Lights program,” said J-F Thormann, President, Andretti Autosport. “Christian has an impressive resume in the Road to Indy after winning back-to-back championships and we know that his caliber of talent is a great fit for our team.”

The dynamic Danish driver has won 19 times in Road To Indy Presented by Cooper Tires action, including two seasons in USF2000 and one season in Indy Pro 2000. Rasmussen has stood on the podium in 29 of his last 43 Road To Indy starts on the way to a third-place USF2000 finish in 2019 and USF2000 and Indy Pro 2000 championships in 2020 and 2021.

“I am very excited to be a part of the Andretti family,” said Rasmussen. “To be a part of a big corporation like Andretti Autosport is something I have been working towards since I started racing. Coming in as the 2021 Champion from Indy Pro 2000, I am excited to get to work with the team and compete up front in Indy Lights in 2022.”

Rasmussen will pilot the No. 28 Andretti Autosport Dallra, the same number as the most recent Andretti Autosport Indy Lights champions Kyle Kirkwood (2021) and Oliver Askew (2019).

Rasmussen, a 21-year-old from Copenhagen, Denmark, joins already confirmed Andretti Autosport drivers Hunter McElrea and Sting Ray Robb in what is expected to be a four-car Indy Lights presented by Cooper Tires team.