By Tony DiZinno

The 30-minute practice session opened at 9:30 a.m., and was one of two for the day after Monday’s afternoon test session was scrubbed due to rain.

Seven of the eight Indy Lights presented by Cooper Tires drivers ran in groups during the opening 10 minutes of the session. The only exception was Team Pelfrey’s Davey Hamilton Jr., who focused almost exclusively on single-car runs.

Andretti Autosport’s Ryan Norman led in the first half of the session with a best speed of 197.458 mph in his No. 48 Journey Mazda, over Dalton Kellett in his No. 28 K-LINE Insulators USA Mazda at 196.540 mph.

There was lots of three-wide running into Turn 1, as the majority of the field runs in lockstep.

Two minutes to go and the top three are Norman, Kellett and Hamilton Jr.

Only four drivers do no-tow laps. Patricio O’Ward is at 193.333 mph, Norman is at 191.423 mph, Colton Herta is at 188.392 mph and Hamilton Jr. is at 187.902 mph.

No changes at the checkered after a clean, uninterrupted 30 minutes of running. The next session is from 11 to 11:30 a.m. and qualifying is at 1:30 p.m.

Indy Lights presented by Cooper Tires – Practice #1

P No Name Team FSpeed Laps
1 48 Ryan Norman Andretti Autosport 197.458 23
2 28 Dalton Kellett Andretti Autosport 196.540 24
3 2 Davey Hamilton Jr Team Pelfrey 195.833 31
4 23 Victor Franzoni Juncos Racing 195.728 28
5 5 Santi Urrutia Belardi Auto Racing 195.310 28
6 9 Aaron Telitz Belardi Auto Racing 194.272 30
7 27 Pato O’Ward Andretti Autosport 193.935 29
8 98 Colton Herta Andretti Steinbrenner Racing 191.397 14

Don’t miss any of the action: