The Technologies sponsored No. 90 navigates Turn 1 of the L&W Supply Grand Prix Of Toronto. Photo credit: Gavin Baker Photography/Road to Indy

By Steve Wittich

The call to fire the 14 Elite Engine prepared 2.0L engines for the final Road To Indy Presented by Cooper Tires race of the weekend, the L&W Supply Grand Prix Of Toronto, came at 11:43 am.

After one lap behind the pace car, the front row of Foster and Siegel brought the field to the green flag in front of packed stands and suites on Princes’ Blvd.

Unfortunately, Salvador de Alba, in the No. 6 Jay Howard Driver Development machine, did not start the race.

The first turn/lap was messy, with multiple incidents. Enaam Ahmed, who started seventh, lost his front wing on the front straight, but that was the least of the field’s worries.

Nolan Siegel (DEForce Racing), who started outside the front row, appeared to get turned by Jordan Missig as he entered Turn 1. Then, with nowhere to go, Green, Porto, and Brewer were all involved.

Race control announced that the incident involving the No. 19 (and others) was under review. They further revealed that they would take a look when they got the in-car camera footage.

Unfortunately, Green was unable to continue necessitating a yellow flag.

The running order under yellow was Louis Foster (Exclusive Autosport), Jordan Missig (Pabst Racing), Reece Gold (Juncos Hollinger Racing)m, Jack William Miller (Miller Vinatieri Motorsports), Yuven Sundaramoorthy (Pabst Racing), Jonathan Browne (Turn 3 Motorsport), Braden Eves (Jay Howard Driver Development), Wyatt Brichacek (Exclusive Autosport), Lindsay Brewer (Exclusive Autosport), Nolan Siegel (DEForce Racing), Kiko Porto (DEForce Racing), Enaam Ahmed (Juncos Hollinger Racing) and Josh Green (Turn 3 Motorsport).

Under the yellow, Ahmed came to the pit road for repairs.

The green flag came out to start Lap 5, but the field only made it five corners before the track went back to full course yellow conditions. Once again, Siegel was an innocent bystander. This time, he was collected by Browne, who tagged the wall at the exit of Turn 5, damaging the right rear suspension and sending him spinning into Siegel. Both cars made significant contact with the barriers.

The cars still on the track under yellow were Foster, Missig, Gold, Sundaramoorthy, Brichacek, Porto, Ahmed, and Brewer.

The green flag came back out to start Lap 9. The ten remaining cars completed a full lap under green, but the tight battling continued. Sundaramoorthy got by Eves and Miller on the restart, moving to fourth.

At the halfway point of the 25-lap race, Foster’s lead over Missig was 2.8 seconds. However, Missig had Gold and Sundaramoorthy within two seconds as the trio battled for the podium.

Foster was pulling away, but not quickly. Missig was turning laps within a tenth of a second of the championship lead at the point.

With seven laps remaining, the Exclusive Autosport driver had a four-second lead, but he almost threw it all away on the next lap.

Foster hit the curb, got some oversteer, and locked up in Turn 5, almost tagging the wall, giving back one second of his lead to Missig.

The best battle was between Sundaramoorthy and Miller, with the second-generation driver with a half-second of the Pabst Racing rookie.

Foster settled back in, with the lead increasing to 3.4 seconds with four laps remaining. Then, with three laps remaining, Foster turned the race’s fastest lap, which was sixth tenths of a second quicker than the next best lap.

Foster’s lead when he got the white flag was 4.9 seconds, cruising to his sixth win in the last eight races and almost putting the championship out of reach.

L&W Supply Grand Prix of Toronto Race #2 – unofficial results

1 90 Louis Foster Exclusive Autosport 25 LAPS
2 19 Jordan Missig Pabst Racing -3.9205
3 55 Reece Gold Juncos Hollinger Racing -7.4653
4 18 Yuven Sundaramoorthy Pabst Racing -8.0417
5 40 Jack William Miller Miller Vinatieri Motorsports w/Exclusive Autosport -9.0458
6 4 Braden Eves Jay Howard Driver Development -9.8684
7 1 Kiko Porto DEForce Racing -11.738
8 47 Enaam Ahmed Juncos Hollinger Racing -19.0516
9 92 Wyatt Brichacek Exclusive Autosport -28.7903
10 93 Lindsay Brewer Exclusive Autosport -1 LAP
11 2 Jonathan Browne Turn 3 Motorsport – 21 LAPS
12 8 Nolan Siegel DEForce Racing – 21 LAPS
13 3 Josh Green Turn 3 Motorsport -25 LAPS
14 6 Salvador De Alba Jay Howard Driver Develpment DNS