Indy Lights race 2 start, with weather imminent. TSO Photo by Patrick

The Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires second race from the Indianapolis Motor Speedway has been paused due to lightning in the surrounding area of the Speedway, Ind. track. Lightning strikes require a 30-minute hold from each strike to ensure safety of competitors, camera crews, corner marshals, track officials and fans.

The 14 competitors got 14 laps completed of the 14-turn, 2.439-mile road course before first the caution flag, then the red flag flew for lightning. Series officials are hoping to resume the postponed race following the conclusion of the NTT INDYCAR Series GMR Grand Prix, which was bumped up to a 3:07 p.m. ET green flag time.

From pole, Linus Lundqvist got a good jump in his No. 26 HMD Motorsports with Dale Coyne Racing Dallara IL-15, while Matthew Brabham slotted into second from fourth on the grid in his No. 83 Andretti Autosport entry. The other significant mover was Ernie Francis Jr., up four spots from 10th to sixth in his No. 99 Force Indy entry.

Jacob Abel contacted Sting Ray Robb, knocking the nosecone and front wing askew of his No. 51 Abel Motorsports entry, and requiring a pit stop for repairs.

The other move before the caution occurred as Hunter McElrea got Danial Frost for fourth.

Here’s the running order through 14 laps:

Indy Lights Grand Prix of Indianapolis – Race #2 Running Order (through 14 of 35 laps)

P No Name Team Laps
1 26 Linus Lundqvist HMD Motorsports with Dale Coyne Racing 14
2 83 Matthew Brabham Andretti Autosport 14
3 28 Christian Rasmussen Andretti Autosport 14
4 27 Hunter McElrea Andretti Autosport 14
5 68 Danial Frost HMD Motorsports with Dale Coyne Racing 14
6 99 Ernie Francis Jr. Force Indy 14
7 11 Antonio Serravalle HMD Motorsports with Dale Coyne Racing 14
8 2 Sting Ray Robb Andretti Autosport 14
9 24 Benjamin Pedersen Global Racing Group with HMD 14
10 21 Kyffin Simpson TJ Speed Motorsports 14
11 7 Christian Bogle HMD Motorsports with Dale Coyne Racing 14
12 61 Ryan Phinny Abel Motorsports 14
13 12 James Roe TJ Speed Motorsports 14
14 51 Jacob Abel Abel Motorsports 14