Danial Frost (HMD Motorsports with Dale Coyne Racing) was the quickest driver during Indy Lights practice for the second time at Barber Motorsports Park (Photo Courtesy of Penske Entertainment)

By Steve Wittich

Danial Frost in the Dan-Jet sponsored No. 68 from the HMD Motorsports with Dale Coyne Racing stable led the second straight Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires practice session.

With four drivers with a tenth-of-a-second and six within two-tenths, expect qualifying to be very entertaining.

After a request from the Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires teams, series owner and promoter INDYCAR changed the weekend schedules. At the first event in St. Petersburg, Fla., the schedule was practice, qualifying, practice, and race.

The teams told TSO Ladder that giving drivers more time to prepare was essential, so the series has changed the weekend schedule to practice, practice, qualifying, and race.

The entire 30-minute session ran under the green flag, with Lundqvist spending the most time at the top of the timing screens.

Frost, a 20-year-old from Singapore, jumped to the top of the timing screens with less than a minute remaining in the final practice before qualifying.

Also improving late in the session were Pederson and Robb, who went to the second and fourth spots.

Indy Lights Grand Prix Of Alabama Race #2 Results

1 68 Danial Frost HMD Motorsports with Dale Coyne Racing 1:12.3734 1:12.3734 17
2 24 Benjamin Pedersen Global Racing Group with HMD 1:12.4001 0.0267 17
3 26 Linus Lundqvist HMD Motorsports with Dale Coyne Racing 1:12.4117 0.0383 18
4 2 Sting Ray Robb Andretti Autosport 1:12.4659 0.0925 19
5 28 Christian Rasmussen Andretti Autosport 1:12.5533 0.1799 18
6 27 Hunter McElrea Andretti Autosport 1:12.6447 0.2713 18
7 51 Jacob Abel Abel Motorsports 1:12.9909 0.6175 19
8 83 Matthew Brabham Andretti Autosport 1:13.0388 0.6654 18
9 21 Kyffin Simpson TJ Speed Motorsports 1:13.0987 0.7253 15
10 59 Manuel Sulaiman HMD Motorsports with Dale Coyne Racing 1:13.1442 0.7708 14
11 7 Christian Bogle HMD Motorsports with Dale Coyne Racing 1:13.2841 0.9107 15
12 99 Ernie Francis Jr Force Indy 1:13.5616 1.1882 14
13 12 James Roe TJ Speed Motorsports 1:13.7128 1.3394 15
14 11 Antonio Serravalle Abel Motorsports 1:13.8461 1.4727 20

Qualifying for the 35-lap race will get the green flag at 2:35 pm.