Global Racing Group, with driver Benjamin Pedersen led another round of Indy Lights testing, this time on the Homestead-Miami Speedway road course – link to Instagram post

By Steve Wittich

Benjamin Pedersen, a Global Racing Group with HMD, Indy Lights pilot, led his third test session in the last five weeks, making the Danish-American the early favorite in the quest for a championship.
But, with the top eight drivers within a scant two-tenths of a second of the 22-year-olds best lap of 74.509 seconds on the Homestead-Miami Speedway road course, the title chase should be one to watch.
Linus Lundqvist, who is not yet confirmed for the season, was a slim one-thousandth of a second behind his teammate, giving the Brownsburg, Ind.-based team the two quickest drivers of the test.
The next four spots on the unofficial timesheet saw the Andretti Autosport quartet of Sting Ray Robb, Hunter McElrea, Christian Rasmussen, and Matthew Brabham, separated by only a whisker thin margin of 0.075 seconds.
A baker’s dozen drivers completed 974 laps of the Homestead-Miami Speedway road course.
There was a late addition to today’s test. Charles Finelli was behind the wheel of the No. 11, which was being operated by Abel Motorsports. The former Fatboy Racing! driver is the owner of that chassis, which was leased to Pserra Racing/AS Promotions for Antonio Serravalle last season.
Due to the supply chain issues plaguing most industries at present, not all teams have the parts needed to complete their IL-15 builds. That creates an unfortunate situation with drivers forced to miss out on essential testing opportunities.
Unofficial Times From Indy Lights presented by Cooper Tires testing at Sebring International Raceway on Jan. 14, 2022













1 Benjamin Pedersen Global Racing Group w/ HMD Motorsports 74.509   59
2 Linus Lundqvist HMD Motorsports 74.510 -0.001 70
3 Sting Ray Robb Andretti Autosport 74.563 -0.054 83
4 Hunter McElrea Andretti Autosport 74.611 -0.102 84
5 Christian Rasmussen Andretti Autosport 74.633 -0.124 86
6 Matthew Brabham Andretti Autosport 74.637 -0.128 93
7 Danial Frost HMD Motorsports 74.674 -0.165 62
8 Kyffin Simpson TJ Speed Motorsports 74.690 -0.181 75
9 Jacob Abel Abel Motorsports 74.790 -0.281 84
10 Manuel Sulaiman HMD Motorsports 74.913 -0.404 70
11 James Roe TJ Speed Motorsports 74.977 -0.468 64
12 Christian Bogle HMD Motorsports 75.646 -1.137 70
13 Charles Finelli Abel Motorsports 78.149 -3.640 74