By Steve Wittich

For the second time in three races, Juncos Racing veteran Sting Ray Robb will start an Indy Pro 2000 Championship Presented by Cooper Tires race from pole. Tomorrow’s race will be the fourth time that a Juncos Racing driver will start on the pole in an Indy Pro 2000 race at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca. Robb joins Garrett Grist, Conor Daly, and Peter Dempsey as Juncos Racing drivers to grab pole at the iconic road course.

The primary championship contenders, Kyle Kirkwood, and Rasmus Lindh traded the outside front row starting spot several times in the last five minutes of the session. Kirkwood ended up with the quicker lap by only one-hundredth of a second.

Lindh will start behind his teammate beside Abel Motorsports veteran Parker Thompson.

The red flag came out only 90 seconds into the session for Charles Finelli, who had an incident in Turn 3.

Only Lindh, Robb and Petrov were able to put a time on the board before the drivers were forced back to pit road.

The green flag came back out with 13 of the 20 minutes remaining.

With seven minutes remaining Robb was the provisional pole sitter with a lap of 80.556 seconds. The veteran Juncos Racing driver was followed by teammate Lindh, Petrov, Frost, and Kirkwood.

Robb continued to lower the provisional pole, while Lindh and Kirkwood traded the outside front row.

Thompson, who led the lone practice session, was forced to sit out the first five minutes of green flag time as punishment for blowing the checkered flag during the first practice session. The Canadian was only able to turn six laps during the session and will start fourth.

Indy Pro 2000 Championship Presented by Cooper Tires Race #2

1 2 Sting Ray Robb Juncos Racing 1:20.165 –.—-
2 28 Kyle Kirkwood RP Motorsport USA 1:20.446 0.2807
3 10 Rasmus Lindh Juncos Racing 1:20.451 0.2862
4 8 Parker Thompson Abel Motorsports 1:20.879 0.7138
5 51 Jacob Abel Abel Motorsports 1:21.078 0.9124
6 5 Artem Petrov RP Motorsport USA 1:21.162 0.9969
7 91 Phillippe Denes Exclusive Autosport 1:21.219 1.0536
8 68 Danial Frost Exclusive Autosport 1:21.233 1.0680
9 7 Kory Enders DEForce Racing 1:21.362 1.1972
10 90 Nikita Lastochkin Exclusive Autosport 1:21.536 1.3704
11 6 Moises de la Vara DEForce Racing 1:22.039 1.8740
12 27 Matt Round-Garrido Jay Howard Driver Development/BN Racing 1:22.128 1.9629
13 11 Antonio Serravalle Pserra Racing/RP Motorsports USA 1:22.547 2.3814
14 3 Antoine Comeau Turn 3 Motorsport 1:22.714 2.5491
15 83 Charles Finelli FatBoy Racing No Time

The first Indy Pro 2000 race of the weekend rolls off at 4:10 pm on Saturday.