A shootout to select the two drivers that will represent the 30th anniversary class of the prestigious Team USA Scholarship is currently underway at the iconic Road America road course in Elkhart Lake, Wis.

A total of 11 drivers began the selection process with a video introduction and meet and greet with the judges at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course during the NTT IndyCar Series race weekend in August.

From those 11, a half-dozen drivers were selected to take part in the shootout that utilizes the Lucas Oil School of Racing cars, the Official Driving School of the Road To Indy.

The six drivers hoping to win on of the two prestigious Team USA Scholarship slots that will send them to the UK this fall (Photo Courtesy of Team USA Scholarship Twitter)

Prescott Campbell, an 18-year-old from Newport Beach, Calif. is joined by Scott Huffaker, 19-years-old, from Menlo Park, Calif. in representing the West Coast.

Campbell won the inaugural Lucas Oil School of Racing / Cooper Tires Karting Scholarship Shoot-out and currently sits fourth in the 2019 Lucas Oil Formula Car Race Series despite missing a round due to injury. Campbell spent the “Month of May” at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway embedded with the Dale Coyne Racing With Vasser-Sullivan racing team, performing typical gopher jobs.

Huffaker won the 2015 Pacific Formula F1600 championship before moving onto and finishing second in the 2016 Pacific Formula F2000 championship. In 2019, Huffaker made a move to sports cars and is contesting the IMSA Prototype Challenge season. His best finish along with teammate Chris Archinaco is second place in a three-hour race at Canadian Tire Motorsports Park.

Representing the Mid West portion of the country are Spike Kohlbecker, a 16-year-old from St. Louis, Mo. and Michael Myers, a 17-year-old from Lizton, Ind.

Kohlbecker finished thrid in the Toyo Tires F1600 Championship Series (Ontario Formula Ford) last year before moving to the United Kingdom this year to take part in the Avon Tyres National Formula Ford Championship where he has two wins and eight podiums.

Currently, the 2019 Lucas Oil Formula Car Race Series points leader, Michael Myers is a newcomer to formula car racing. However, the Hoosier is not entirely new to four-wheel competition. Myers has an extensive resume of ATV wins and championships to his name.

Josh Green, a 16-year-old from Mount Kisco, N.Y. and 21-year-old Alex Scaler from Flemington, N.J. are representing the East Coast.

Green made his USF2000 debut at Portland International Raceway last weekend, collecting an impressive top ten finish in race #2. Green drives for Team Pelfrey in the F1600 Championship Series series and is in championship contention with seven wins and 15 podiums.

Coming from an SCCA background, Scaler has significant experience in car preparation and has been quick in his limited opportunities behind the wheel.

“The selection process doesn’t get any easier,” said Team USA Scholarship founder Jeremy Shaw. “I believe the future of American open-wheel racing is in good hands. This year’s class is extremely accomplished. It was difficult enough to whittle the list down to six finalists, and it will be even harder to select just two winners.”

As always, it will be interesting to follow the winners as they take on the Formula Ford Festival at Brands Hatch and the Walter Hayes Trophy at Silverstone later this fall.