Canadian team makes firm commitment to expand to Pro Mazda Championship in 2018

SASKATOON, SK (July 25, 2017) – Saskatoon, SK’s Exclusive Autosport has confirmed its intentions of continued expansion within the Mazda Road to Indy Presented by Cooper Tires ladder system. The Canadian team, which just won its first USF2000 races in Toronto, has become the first operation to purchase a new Tatuus PM-18 car for the Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires.  Team owner Michael Duncalfe remains focused on the growth and development of his team and is planning to run a two-car effort in Pro Mazda next year, further expanding his foundation that already include winning programs in F1600 and USF2000 competition.

“We are thrilled to announce that with the addition of the new Tatuus PM-18, Exclusive Autosport will be expanding our program in the Mazda Road to Indy presented by Cooper Tires with our entry into the 2018 Pro Mazda Championship,” Duncalfe confirmed. “I have been very happy with the quality of the Tatuus USF-17, and have no doubt that the PM-18 will be equally as solid. With the additional aero package and the added horsepower in the 275hp Elite Engines-prepared Mazda powerplant, the Pro Mazda series is the perfect next step for drivers on the MRTI.  Adding this next step to the Exclusive Autosport lineup will mean that drivers who enter our program can progress, in house, from our F1600 program to USF2000 and then on to Pro Mazda, providing a consistent environment for driver growth and development.”

Exclusive Autosport is a leading team in the Canadian F1600 programs, having won the Canadian F1600 Super Series and the Quebec-based Formula Tour 1600 championship in 2016 with Texan Trenton Estep and both the Formula Tour 1600 and Toyo Tires F1600 series in Ontario in 2014 with Missouri’s Tristan DeGrand. They swept both F1600 programs in 2013 as well, winning in Quebec with Thomas McGregor and in Ontario with Jack Mitchell Jr. In addition, they won the American F1600 Championship Series in 2015 with Scott Andrews.

This year, the team expanded its platform and made its debut in the Mazda Road to Indy with a three-car effort in the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda.  Canadian Parker Thompson delivered their first wins on the streets of Toronto just over a week ago, while teammates Jayson Clunie and Dev Gore added in three more top-10s for a total of five. Thompson currently sits third in the point standings. Likewise, Exclusive Autosport has accrued 167 points in the Team Championship standings and is positioned in fourth, the highest ranking of the teams that are new to the MRTI in 2017.

Once the team’s new PM-18 arrives, Exclusive Autosport will again put to work their partnership with AERO™ Advanced Paint Technology (www.rethinkpaint.com), which is used on all their race cars.  Exclusive Autosport welcomes all inquires for the team’s Pro Mazda Championship seats in 2018.  Testing will begin in September and will continue at the Chris Griffis Memorial Test on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course in October. Drivers interested in the Pro Mazda Championship, or any of Exclusive Autosports race programs, should contact Michael Duncalfe directly at 306-242-8294.