After leading the majority of the 45-minute session, Kaylen Frederick had the top spot on the time sheets taken away from him by yesterday’s test session leader Calvin Ming in the final ten minutes. However a last minute lap at 133.138mph, allowed the 15-year old Team Pelfrey rookie to recapture the top spot.

Ming, and his Pabst Racing teammates Rinus VeeKay, and Lucas Kohl went two-three-four in the final practice before qualifying, and were joined in the top five by ArmsUp Motorsports’ Alex Baron.

Oliver Askew, who currently leads VeeKay by 24 points had the sixth quickest time in his Soul Red Cape Motorsports No. 3.

The 13 entries turned a total of 646 trouble free laps.

I (Steve) went out and watched some of the practice in Turn 1 and Turn 2, and the racing has the potential to be really exciting. The Mazda powered Tatuus cars could follow very closely, and it appeared as if a second line was rubbering in.

Mazda Iowa 60 presented by Cooper Tires race practice results

1 81 Kaylen Frederick Team Pelfrey 133.138 60
2 22 Calvin Ming Pabst Racing 133.086 54
3 21 Rinus VeeKay Pabst Racing 132.921 73
4 23 Lucas Kohl Pabst Racing 132.200 69
5 4 Alex Baron ArmsUp Motorsports 131.929 31
6 3 Oliver Askew Cape Motorsports 131.754 42
7 7 Devin Wojcik ArmsUp Motorsports 131.286 55
8 82 Ayla Agren Team Pelfrey 130.717 56
9 80 Robert Megennis Team Pelfrey 130.480 61
10 90 Parker Thompson Exclusive Autosport 129.674 48
11 12 Moises de la Vara DEForce Racing 129.571 34
12 11 Kory Enders DEForce Racing 128.971 36
13 92 Dev Gore Exclusive Autosport 121.950 27

The 45 minute USF2000 qualifying session begins at 9:15am on Sunday morning and the green flag flies to start the 60 lap race at 1:05pm.

The final Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tire practice session before tomorrow morning’s qualifying was led by Carlin sophomore Zachary Claman DeMelo. The Road America race #2 winner also led testing at the 0.894 mile oval last week.

The Canadian was followed by on the timesheet by Colton Herta, and fellow Great White North citizen Dalton Kellett.

Rookies, and championship contenders Matheus Leist and Aaron Telitz rounded out the top five.

The majority of the half-hour session was led by Leist, but in the final ten minutes, purple times started to pop up on the timing screen as drivers put on fresh rubber and made qualifying simulations.

The sticker Cooper Tire party ended with just over five minutes left in the session when a pair of Andretti Autosport decided to practice their synchronized spinning routine.

Nico Jamin took the lead, pirouetting at the exit of Turn 2, the No. 27 Synova sponsored Andretti Autosport machine just tapped the outside safer barrier before drifting down the track and coming to rest on the inside of the back straight.

Kellett, who was following his rookie teammate Jamin, had the back end of his Mazda powered Dallara break loose while trying to avoid him, and also just tapped the SAFER Barrier on the back straight.

The track did go back to green for two minutes, but nobody was able to improve on their times.

TSO had a chance to catch up with Trevor Carlin yesterday, and he admitted that he didn’t think the “boys in blue” would be as strong as they have been so far this year. That wasn’t a slam against his drivers, just an honest observation. Carlin wasn’t sure what to expect from sophomore Neil Alberico, and thought that Leist and Claman De Melo would need one year of seasoning, before running up front next year. Carlin, who has been involved in European and American junior motorsports categories for a quarter of century told us that with the natural pace that young Canadian and Brazilian drivers posses, he expected to win a lot of races – next year.

Mazda Iowa 100 Presented by Cooper Tires Indy Lights race practice #2 results

1 13 Zachary Claman De Melo Carlin 162.577 30
2 98 Colton Herta Andretti Steinbrenner Racing 162.470 41
3 28 Dalton Kellett Andretti Autosport 162.014 27
4 26 Matheus Leist Carlin 161.517 25
5 9 Aaron Telitz Belardi Auto Racing 161.020 36
6 48 Ryan Norman Andretti Autosport 160.746 29
7 11 Garth Rickards Carlin 160.429 35
8 5 Santi Urrutia Belardi Auto Racing 160.374 33
9 22 Neil Alberico Carlin 160.085 14
10 27 Nico Jamin Andretti Autosport 159.759 22
11 31 Nicolas Dapero Juncos Racing 159.736 43
12 18 Kyle Kaiser Juncos Racing 159.648 42
13 2 Juan Piedrahita Team Pelfrey 159.169 34
14 51 Shelby Blackstock Belardi Auto Racing 158.369 30

The 45 minute Indy Lights qualifying session begins at 10:15am on Sunday morning and the green flag flies to start the 100 lap race at 2pm.

Don’t miss any of the action: