As the 19 entires came up the hill to start the final USF2000 race of the weekend, third place starter David Malukas was able to quickly grab the lead. He was able to hold that lead for until they crossed the line to start the second lap.

At the completion of the first lap, the top 10 were: David Malukas, Rinus VeeKay, Oliver Askew, Parker Thompson, Kaylen Frederick, Robert Megennis, Calvin Ming, Colin Kaminsky, Lucas Kohl, and Kory Enders.

VeeKay was able to get by Malukas for the lead before the yellow flag came out for Darren Keane and Jacob Loomis, who made contact in Turn 6. Neither the Newman Wachs Racing nor Team Pelfrey driver who started in ninth and 10th, were not able to continue.

The race restarted on Lap 4, with VeeKay holding off Malukas into Turn 1. Malukas was able to get better run off Turn 1 and the two drivers went side-by-side from Turn 3, down the Moraine Sweep, and through Turn 5 before VeeKay was able to pull ahead of the Chicago, Ill. driver.

Directly behind the leading twosome, Thompson made a move on Askew for third, but was not able to make the pass, losing momentum and fall down to the seventh.

With 10 minutes left in the race and seven laps complete, VeeKay held only a 0.37 second lead over Malukas, who was not able to fully concentrate on the driver in front of him as Askew was pressuring the black and white No. 79 BN Racing entry.

Robert Megennis, who won the first race of the year in St. Petersburg, had contact on Lap 7. The New York, N.Y. based driver who was battling with Thompson at the time was forced pit road for repairs and ended up finishing a disappointing …th.

VeeKay was able to pull a slight gap up front while Malukas, Askew and Ming were all running nose to tail in a great fight for the final spot on the podium.

VeeKay led the field under the white flag, with Malukas, Askew and Ming forming a train of three cars battling for the final two spots on the podium. Ming, who had just turned the quickest lap of the race, was able to get by Askew, and immediately began to put pressure on Malukas. The 16 year-old was able to hold off Ming until the final corner when the rookie spun, handing the second step of the podium to Ming and allowing Askew to sneak back onto the podium, his seventh in eight races.

Cooper Tires Grand Prix of Road America Powered by Mazda Race #2 Results

1 21 Rinus VeeKay Pabst Racing
2 22 Calvin Ming Pabst Racing 1.6698
3 3 Oliver Askew Cape Motorsports 2.2994
4 81 Kaylen Frederick Team Pelfrey 4.0501
5 90 Parker Thompson Exclusive Autosport 7.4081
6 23 Lucas Kohl Pabst Racing 9.3499
7 11 Kory Enders DEForce Racing 10.2433
8 27 Colin Kaminsky John Cummiskey Racing 11.5303
9 7 Devin Wojcik ArmsUp Motorsports 16.7750
10 2 Ricky Donison Cape Motorsports 22.1585
11 92 Dev Gore Exclusive Autosport 24.0193
12 97 Bruna Tomaselli ArmsUp Motorsports 25.5443
13 12 Moises de la Vara DEForce Racing 57.3040
14 79 David Malukas BN Racing -1 Lap
15 80 Robert Megennis Team Pelfrey -1 Lap
16 93 Jayson Clunie Exclusive Autosport -2 Laps
17 20 Chandler Horton RJB Motorsports -2 Laps
18 82 Jacob Loomis Team Pelfrey -11 Laps
19 36 Darren Keane Newman Wachs Racing – 11 Laps