#40 Jack William Miller, Miller Vinatieri Motorsports, Patterson Dental, Blue Marble Productions. Photo by Gavin Baker – USF Pro Championships

By Tony DiZinno

Jack William Miller will lead the 18-car field of USF Pro 2000 presented by Cooper Tires competitors to the green flag for Friday night’s Cooper Tires Freedom 90 at Lucas Oil Indianapolis Raceway Park.

The Carmel, Indiana native in his No. 40 Miller Vinatieri Motorsports lapped the 0.686-mile oval in a total of 41.726 seconds over two laps, equating to an average speed of 118.372mph.

Miller’s MVM Tatuus IP-22 was ahead of two Exclusive Autosport entries, Joel Granfors and Salvador de Alba. Granfors, the 18-year-old Swede, is fresh off his first USF Pro 2000 win on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course earlier this month and will look to emulate last year’s series champion and Exclusive Autosport driver, Louis Foster, in winning on the IRP oval shortly after capturing his first series win on the IMS road course.

TJ Speed Motorsports’ Francesco Pizzi and Pabst Racing with Force Indy’s Myles Rowe complete the top five on the grid.

Rowe enters the race with a 39-point lead on Kiko Porto, who only qualified his DeForce Racing entry in 11th place (139-100). Pizzi is third on 99, Granfors fourth on 95 and Jace Denmark fifth on 91.

The only oval on the schedule means the USF Pro 2000 field has a slightly different points structure.

A win is 45 points, second 38, third 33, fourth 29, fifth 26, with the remainder of the top 10 23-21-20-18-17 and then 15 for 11th down to 2 for 20th.

Key to the race in recent years? Tire management. Drivers need to hold onto their Cooper Tires over the course of 90 laps, and often times, managing the fall-off and keeping enough in hand when encountering slower traffic decides the winner.

Foster’s win last year was for Exclusive Autosport. Other recent winners with the Tatuus chassis include: Christian Rasmussen for Jay Howard Driver Development (2021), Kody Swanson for Legacy Autosport (2020), Danial Frost for Exclusive Autosport (2019) and Parker Thompson for Exclusive Autosport (2018).

Qualifying Results

PosNo.DriverTeamLap 1Lap 2Total TimeAvg. Speed
140Jack William MillerMiller Vinatieri Motorsports20.75820.96841.726118.372
292Joel GranforsExclusive Autosport20.91020.84941.759118.279
391Salvador de AlbaExclusive Autosport21.02220.87341.895117.895
455Francesco PizziTJ Speed Motorsports21.06620.89641.962117.706
599Myles RowePabst Racing w/Force Indy21.13720.89342.030117.516
620Jace DenmarkPabst Racing21.18220.95042.132117.232
71Michael d’OrlandoTurn 3 Motorsport21.11921.21042.329116.686
82Jonathan BrowneTurn 3 Motorsport21.14421.24542.389116.521
932Christian WeirTJ Speed Motorsports21.18721.23642.423116.427
1047Jackson LeeTurn 3 Motorsport21.29121.25042.541116.104
1112Kiko PortoDEForce Racing21.38421.20442.588115.976
124Ricardo EscottoJay Howard Driver Development21.41521.29742.712115.640
1381Nicholas MonteiroNeoTech Motorsport21.42121.30842.729115.594
147Bijoy GargDEForce Racing21.37621.36242.738115.569
1590Yuven SundaramoorthyExclusive Autosport21.47821.36342.841115.291
1693Lindsay BrewerExclusive Autosport21.67821.71543.393113.825
176Reece UshijimaJay Howard Driver Development-.—--.—-No TimeNo Speed
1819Jordan MissigPabst Racing-.—--.—-No TimeNo Speed