Nolan Siegel (DEForce Racing) led the lone Indy Pro 2000 practice in Toronto Photo credit: Gavin Baker Photography/Road to Indy

By Steve Wittich

When the lone Indy Pro 2000 Championship Presented by Cooper Tires practice session in Toronto got underway, the ambient temperature was 71F, and the track temperature was 82F.

The early leader was DEForce Racing rookie Kiko Porto, the latest winner in the series at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course.

Only two drivers – Porto and Louis Foster, had turned a lap under 72 seconds at the halfway point of practice. Porto’s lap timed at 71.7614 seconds was only 0.0128 seconds better than the Exclusive Autosport points leader.

Those two had almost seven-tenths of a second over Nolan Siegel (DEForce Racing), who was third on the timing screens. Josh Green (Turn 3 Motorsport), Enaam Ahmed (Juncos Hollinger Racing), and Jack William Miller (Miller Vinatieri Motorsports) were the other drivers within a second of the top spot.

However, times started to fall, with Foster moving to the top of the timing screens, with the first lap under 71 seconds. With ten minutes remaining, Miller, Siegel, Green, Reece Gold (Juncos Hollinger Racing), Porto, and Braden Eves (Jay Howard Driver Development) were within a half-second of Foster.

With 11 minutes remaining in the session, Lindsay Brewer, who is making her first street course start, brought out the red flag when her No. 93 Exclusive Autosport machine nosed into the tires in Turn 8.

The AMR INDYCAR Safety Team got the car extracted and restarted, with Brewer able to drive back to pit road missing the front wing.

The green flag came back out with five minutes left, and the field streamed back onto the still green 1.786-mile, 11-turn Exhibition Place street circuit.

Gold, Eves, Porto, Siegel, Yuven Sundaramoorthy (Pabst Racing), Jordan Missig (Pabst Racing), Wyatt Brichacek (Exclusive Autosport), Salvador de Albal (Jay Howard Driver Development), and Jonathan Browne (Turn 3 Motorsport) all improved on their best laps in the final five minutes, with Siegel turning the quickest lap of practice on his 20th lap.

L&W Supply Grand Prix of Toronto practice results.

1 8 Nolan Siegel DEForce Racing 1:10.5814 20
2 90 Louis Foster Exclusive Autosport 1:10.7076 0.1262 22
3 55 Reece Gold Juncos Hollinger Racing 1:10.8070 0.2256 22
4 4 Braden Eves Jay Howard Driver Development 1:11.0886 0.5072 22
5 1 Kiko Porto DEForce Racing 1:11.1661 0.5847 16
6 47 Enaam Ahmed Juncos Hollinger Racing 1:11.2230 0.6416 21
7 40 Jack William Miller Miller Vinatieri Motorsports w/Exclusive Autosport 1:11.2469 0.6655 16
8 3 Josh Green Turn 3 Motorsport 1:11.3582 0.7768 20
9 18 Yuven Sundaramoorthy Pabst Racing 1:11.4673 0.8859 20
10 6 Salvador De Alba Jay Howard Driver Develpment 1:11.4985 0.9171 16
11 2 Jonathan Browne Turn 3 Motorsport 1:11.7595 1.1781 21
12 19 Jordan Missig Pabst Racing 1:12.0093 1.4279 20
13 92 Wyatt Brichacek Exclusive Autosport 1:12.0380 1.4566 22
14 93 Lindsay Brewer Exclusive Autosport 1:15.6498 5.0684 18

The 14 drivers are scheduled for their first qualifying session at 1:55 pm.