By Steve Wittich

TSO has learned from numerous sources that INDYCAR, the owners of the Indy Lights presented by Cooper Tires championship, will be bringing the top rung of the Road To Indy back in-house for the 2022 season.

Andersen Promotions, the owner and promoter of the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship and Indy Pro 2000 Championship Presented by Cooper Tires series, has been the promotor of Indy Lights since the 2014 season.

After taking over the promotion of Indy Lights, Andersen Promotions introduced a new car, the popular IL-15, which has proved itself as a great training tool for future NTT INDYCAR SERIES drivers.

Since 2014, Indy Lights has graduated 19 drivers to the NTT INDYCAR SERIES, including recent race winners Pato O’Ward, Colton Herta, and Rinus VeeKay.

The top junior open-wheel series, which began life as the American Racing Series in 1986, was promoted by Championship Auto Racing Teams from 1986 through 2001 and the Indy Racing League/INDYCAR from 2002 through 2013.

TSO Ladder has reached out to both Andersen Promotions and INDYCAR for comment, and will update this story when we hear back from those entities.

More details of the change are forthcoming in the next week.