A diverse and talented group of 27 open-wheel hopefuls are headed to Florida and the Sebring International Raceway next week for the Second Annual Lucas Oil School of Racing Scholarship Shootout Presented By Cooper Tires.

The amateur drivers range in age from 12 to 28 and come from a diverse background of karting, ‘sim’ racing, quad racing, and motocross competition.

Drivers competing in the Lucas Oil School of Racing Scholarship Shootout Presented By Cooper Tires

Jacob Bolen 14
Hayden Bradley 14
Elliott Budzinski 17
David Burketh 16
KC Cook 28
Henry Cubides 16
Will Holtz 14
Ayrton Houk 15
Amir Joya 22
Ben Keller 17
Sarin Kodappully 28
Kevin Lanyi 14
Alex Lee 15
Emily Linscott 16
Valentino Mini 13
Daniel Moreno 20
Michael Myers 17
Elysiah Navarro 15
Dillon Newell 16
Carter Pease 22
Hunter Peri 16
Enzo Prevost 21
Colin Queen 14
Robert Radmann 16
Elvis Rankin 12
Alexander Searle 16
Ellis Spieza 13

The 27 drivers will be competing for one of five prizes. The winner will receive a full-season package for the 2020 Lucas Oil Formula Car Race Series. The drivers who end the judging in second, third, and fourth place will receive packages to compete in three, two, and one Lucas Oil Formula Car Race Series. An advanced 2-day program will go to the driver that ends the three-day event in fifth place.

The judging panel includes Lucas Oil School of Racing instructors RC Enerson, Phil Lombardi and Juan Arenas, Lucas Oil School of Racing Director Of Operations Gerardo Bonilla, Lucas Oil School of Racing Technical Director David Metcalf, former driver, motorsports broadcaster and FIA Steward Brian Till and 2019 MX-5 Cup runner-up Selin Rollan.

Also attending the shootout will be:

  • Dan Andersen, CEO Of Andersen Promotions (Road To Indy Presented by Cooper Tires)
  • Ricky Taylor, driver of the Acura Team Penske ARX-05 DPi in the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship
  • Jordan Taylor, driver of the Corvette Racing C8.R in the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship
  • Oscar Armas, Cooper Tires marketing

Drivers will spend two days (Wednesday, December 11, and Thursday, December 12) lapping on the 1.703-mile Sebring International Raceway ’club course’ in the Elite Engine powered Ray chassis.

But, before that, to simulate what a driver truly experiences as a professional, the racers will spend Tuesday in off-track activities, including judged and educational sessions.

Drivers will have two simulator sessions, judged by Kelly Jones of RaceCraft1 and Frank Rico of Ricmotech High-Performance Sim-Racing Equipment. The contestants, will also complete on-camera interviews with judge Brian Till.

Educationally, the drivers and their parents will have the opportunity to learn from industry insiders.

  • Dawn Flinn from EarEverything, will educate the drivers on ear health.
  • Seven-time Indianapolis 500 starter Pippa Mann will go over the business side of racing.
  • PitFit Training’s Jim Leo will share his knowledge of fitness in motorsports.

Last year’s shootout winner, Prescott Campbell, went on to win the 2019 Lucas Oil Formula Car Racing Series and the advancement scholarship that came with it.

The announcemt of the winning drivers will take place on Thursday afternoon. TSO Ladder wishes all of the drivers good luck and also remind them to have fun!