The front row for Sunday’s Indy Pro 2000 Championship Presented by Cooper Tires race mirrors Race #1 with Kyle Kirkwood starts on the inside with current championship leader Rasmus Lindh on the outside.

Kirkwood’s quick lap of 67.380 seconds was well under track record of 67.6395 seconds set last year by Oliver Askew.

Lindh ended the first qualifying session of the day 0.2 seconds behind Kirkwood, but made serious gains on the RP Motorsport’s rookie, finishing this evenings qualifying session only 0.05 seconds adrift of Kirkwood.

Also going under the track record was Parker Thompson, who will start on the inside of the second row. The sixth time the Red Deer, Alberta native will begin in the first two rows in what he considers his ‘home’ race.

The final session of the opening day of the 2019 Honda Indy Toronto was the second Indy Pro 2000 qualifying session, serving as a Road To Indy bookend on a busy day of action.

The session began five minutes early, with an ambient temperature of 75F and the track temperature of 95F.

The 20-minute session was only five minutes old when the red flag came out for Charles Finelli, who stopped on track in Turn 5.

The top five when the green flag came back out with 11 minutes remaining were Sting Ray Robb, Kyle Kirkwood, Rasmus Lindh, Parker Thompson, and Phillippe Denes.

The majority of drivers took the opportunity to bolt on fresh Cooper Tire slicks.

The first driver to go quicker was Danial Frost, who moved to the second quick with nine minutes remaining. Frost went quicker on his next lap, his seventh of the day to briefly grab the provisional pole.

That lasted for only a few seconds. Race #1 pole-sitter Kirkwood, who was right behind Frost on track, went quicker yet.

Frost and then Kirkwood each went quicker on the next lap with the RP Motorsport’s driver only three-hundredths faster than Frost.

On his 11th lap of the session, Kirkwood turned a lap at 67.8662 seconds, surpassing the qualifying track record set by Rinus van Kalmthout (VeeKay) last year.

On the next lap reigning USF2000 champion Kirkwood turned a lap at 67.5232 seconds, lowering the qualifying record and grabbing the overall track record set by Askew last year.

Kirkwood went quicker again on the next lap, lowering the track record further.

Points leader Lindh was the last driver go out on fresh Cooper Tires, and the Swede took his time getting them warmed up. The rookie’s quickest lap missed out on the pole by the slim margin of five-hundredths of a second.

A half-second covers the top five drivers, and the top nine are within one second of the pole sitter Kirkwood.

Indy Pro 2000 Unofficial Qualifying Results For Race #2

1 28 Kyle Kirkwood RP Motorsport Racing 1:07.380 –.—- 15
2 10 Rasmus Lindh Juncos Racing 1:07.439 0.0585 12
3 8 Parker Thompson Abel Motorsports 1:07.614 0.2336 14
4 68 Danial Frost Exclusive Autosport 1:07.692 0.3124 15
5 2 Sting Ray Robb Juncos Racing 1:07.813 0.4329 14
6 98 Phillippe Denes FatBoy Racing 1:08.182 0.8018 14
7 5 Ian Rodriguez RP Motorsport Racing 1:08.204 0.8241 15
8 11 Antonio Serravalle Pserra Racing/Jay Howard Driver Development 1:08.366 0.9862 12
9 90 Nikita Lastochkin Exclusive Autosport 1:08.481 1.1007 15
10 7 Kory Enders DEForce Racing 1:08.820 1.4404 14
11 6 Moises de la Vara DEForce Racing 1:09.079 1.6991 13
12 51 Jacob Abel Abel Motorsports 1:10.798 3.4184 13
13 83 Charles Finelli FatBoy Racing 1:16.970 9.5902 4

The lone Indy Pro 2000 session on Saturday is the first Cooper Tires Grand Prix Presented by Allied Building Products which is scheduled to get the green flag at 9:25 am.