For the third time this season, sixth time in an Indy Pro 2000 car and 12th time in his Road To Indy career, Parker Thompson will start a race from the pole. It’s also the first time the Abel Motorsports veteran will start on pole at Road America.

Only six-hundredths behind Thompson was Juncos Racing veteran Sting Ray Robb. Starting in the second row will be Kyle Kirkwood and Danial Frost.

Championship leader Rasmus Lindh, who was only able to turn two laps in the morning practice after making contact in Turn 5, will start on the inside of the third row.

Thompson, Robb, and Frost were held on pit road to start the qualifying session for not slowing down in a sector with a local yellow during the morning practice session.

Thompson and Robb were able to serve a portion of their penalties during that practice session, but Frost had to miss the first five minutes of qualifying.

On his out lap, Charles Finelli spun in Turn 6 but was able to continue, keeping the track green.

Early in the session, the quickest driver was Kyle Kirkwood.

Just before the half-way point of the session, Kirkwood, Robb, Thompson, and Ian Rodriguez were all on pit road for adjustments.

They were followed to pit road by Lindh and Loomis.

Frost lowered the provisional pole to 121.4439 seconds on his third lap at speed.

The first driver to go quicker after pitting was Thompson, who moved up to second, two-tenths off of Frost.

Thompson went quicker on his next lap, knocking Frost from the provisional pole with a lap of 121.1248 seconds.

With just under a minute remaining, Kirkwood improved from the fifth quickest time to second quickest but was not able to go quicker on his final lap.

On his last lap, Robb was able to go quicker, moving to second and knocking Kirkwood back to an inside second row starting spot.

Exclusive Autosport’s Frost was pushing hard on his last lap and made fairly hard contact with the concrete barrier at the exit of Turn 7 on driver’s right.

Cooper Tires Grand Prix of Road America Powered by Elite Engines Indy Pro 2000 Unofficial Race #1 Qualifying Results.

1 8 Parker Thompson Abel Motorsports 2:01.125 –.—- 7
2 2 Sting Ray Robb Juncos Racing 2:01.189 0.0638 6
3 28 Kyle Kirkwood RP Motorsport Racing 2:01.277 0.1523 7
4 68 Danial Frost Exclusive Autosport 2:01.442 0.3167 6
5 10 Rasmus Lindh Juncos Racing 2:01.641 0.5166 7
6 5 Ian Rodriguez RP Motorsport Racing 2:01.715 0.5903 7
7 98 Phillippe Denes FatBoy Racing 2:01.735 0.6100 7
8 90 Nikita Lastochkin Exclusive Autosport 2:01.907 0.7822 9
9 9 Jacob Loomis JDL Racing 2:02.353 1.2283 8
10 6 Moises de la Vara DEForce Racing 2:03.137 2.0123 9
11 7 Kory Enders DEForce Racing 2:03.217 2.0925 8
12 11 Antonio Serravalle Pserra Racing/Jay Howard Driver Development 2:03.481 2.3560 9
13 83 Charles Finelli Fatboy Racing! 2:06.385 5.2604 7

The next time the middle rung of the Road To Indy Presented by Cooper Tires is back on track is at 8:35 am tomorrow for qualifying. Their first race of the weekend gets the green flag at 12:55 pm.