By Steve Wittich

For the eleventh time in his Road To Indy career, the fifth time in Indy Pro 2000 and third time on the streets of St. Petersburg, Fla., Parker Thompson will start from the inside of the front row.

The Red Deer, Alberta based driver broke the track record with a lap at 67.925 seconds, the only driver to break the 68-second mark.

Reigning Cooper Tires USF2000 Champion Kyle Kirkwood will start on the outside of the first row. Giving the Jupiter, Fla. native an excellent chance to redeem the weekend after a disappointing race on Friday afternoon

Sting Ray Robb, who is coming off a podium finish in yesterday’s race will start on the inside of the second row with Exclusive Autosport rookie Danial Frost on the outside of him.

The final Indy Pro 2000 qualifying session got underway just before 8 a.m. under a picture-perfect azure sky and the temperature at a comfortable 67F.

The distinctive note of the Elite Engine built 2.0L Indy Pro 2000 power plant served as an alarm for any of the residents of the condo buildings surrounding the circuit that were still asleep.

It didn’t take long for Thompson, who started the first Grand Prix of St. Petersburg Presented by Allied Building Products race on pole, to put the No. 8 Abel Motorsports on to the top of the timing sheets.

The Canadian was still there at the halfway point of the 20-minute session with a lap at 68.365 seconds. The rest of the top five with ten minutes remaining were Moisés de la Vara (DEForce Racing), Danial Frost (Exclusive Autosport), Nikia Lastochkin (Exclusive Autosport) and Robb.

Four minutes later RP Motorsport rookie Kyle Kirkwood turned a lap at 68.041 seconds, breaking the Indy Pro 2000 track record set by Oliver Askew last year.

Kirkwood’s track record and provisional pole didn’t last long when Thompson turned the first sub-68-second lap on the 1.8-mile, 14-turn street circuit.

Charles Finelli is not taking part in today’s action so that he can attend to a personal matter.

Grand Prix of St. Petersburg Presented by Allied Building Products qualifying #2 results

1 8 Parker Thompson Abel Motorsports 1:07.925 –.—- 15
2 28 Kyle Kirkwood RP Motorsport Racing 1:08.040 0.1153 14
3 2 Sting Ray Robb Juncos Racing 1:08.197 0.2719 14
4 68 Danial Frost Exclusive Autosport 1:08.232 0.3071 15
5 10 Rasmus Lindh Juncos Racing 1:08.241 0.3165 13
6 6 Moises de la Vara DEForce Racing 1:08.279 0.3539 15
7 90 Nikita Lastochkin Exclusive Autosport 1:08.599 0.6745 15
8 7 Kory Enders DEForce Racing 1:08.609 0.6842 15
9 5 Damiano Fioravanti RP Motorsport Racing 1:08.741 0.8159 15
10 11 Antonio Serravalle Pserra Racing/Jay Howard Driver Development 1:08.955 1.0298 15
11 51 Jacob Abel Abel Motorsports 1:09.076 1.1514 15
12 98 Phillippe Denes FatBoy Racing 1:09.137 1.2119 16
13 91 Parker Locke Exclusive Autosport 1:09.800 1.8754 14
14 83 Charles Finelli Fatboy Racing! No Time

The race rolls off at 11:25 a.m. this morning.

Don’t miss any of the Road To Indy Presented by Cooper Tires action: