Chris Gumprecht joins the fight for the Championship

INDIANAPOLIS (June 5, 2017)- The asphalt has barely cooled from the 101st Indianapolis 500 as the open-wheel stars of tomorrow compete in the second Formula 4 United States Championship Powered by Honda event at Indianapolis Motor Speedway June 10-11 during the Sportscar Vintage Racing Association Open Wheel World Challenge.

After its season debut race in April, the F4 U.S. field still holds strong with 30 cars slated to compete.

“I am very pleased to have 30 cars entered for Indianapolis. Three of our drivers are unable to participate in Indy due to unforeseen circumstances but will return to the grid for the remainder of the season,” said SCCA Pro Racing Vice President Steve Oseth. “This type of participation emphasizes the value F4 presents to all of our teams and competitors. We continue to remain the most cost-effective professional open-wheel championship in the United States.”

Chris Gumprecht of Stanfordville, New York, is the newest F4 U.S. entry. While the No. 97 pilot will make his first F4 U.S. appearance at IMS competing under C.G. Racing/Company Motorsports, he is not new to open-wheel competition. Gumprecht started competing in various open-wheel programs in 2005. He quickly transitioned to the F2000 Championship Series in 2007 before making the jump to F4.

“I am really looking forward to racing in a new U.S. Formula series with a large grid and stout competition,” said C.G. Racing team owner and driver Gumprecht. “I’m excited to race this season and hope to have some great success.”

Single-car team C.G. Racing/Company Motorsports will have some ground to make up in the points battle. Two wins and a second-place finish from Timo Reger of Houston, and two top-10 finishes from Ben Waddell of Denver at Homestead-Miami Speedway, jolted JDX Racing to a comfortable 42-point lead over first-year team Indy Motorsport Group.

Teams in subsequent positions are also in a tight race to the top. Only one point separates second-place Indy Motorsport Group from third-place Global Racing Group. While a tie for fourth between single-car team Austin Kaszuba Racing and Cape Motorsports along with a tie for fifth between Miller Vinatieri Leguizamon Motorsports and Primus Racing Group round-out the top seven teams.

Group-A Racing, Jay Howard’s Motorsports Driver Development and Crosslink Racing also scored team points during the first event.

Fans can view points, full schedule and entry list at