After a successful four event, eight-race championship taking place during the final third of calendar year 2016, the Lucas Oil Formula Car Race Series (LOFCRS) kicks off their second title fight in only two weeks.  The opening round of the seven event, 14 race  championship takes place on Saturday, April 1, and Sunday, April 2 at Palm Beach International Raceway in Jupiter, Fla.

In 2016, the series champion – Mathias Soler, received a test day in his choice of Cooper Tires USF2000 Powered by Mazda (USF2000), or F4 United States Championship Powered by Honda (F4) equipment. That test day remains an important part of the significantly upgraded prize package for the driver who claims the 2017 LOFCRS Championship.

The LOFCRS Champion that is crowned at the November finale on the 2.75-mile, 16-Turn road course at NOLA Motorsports Park in Avondale, La., will still receive a USF2000 or F4 test, but, in addition to that, will also receive a generous $40,000 sponsorship package to be used towards a full season ride in USF2000 or F4. The 2017 LOFCRS Champion also has the option to return for the 2018 LOFCRS race season at no cost.

In addition to the career advancement prizes, the 2017 Champion will also receive a LOFCRS Nomex undershirt, a Champion’s trophy, and their name on the LOFCRS perpetual plaque. The LOFCRS also announced to be on the lookout for even more enhancements to that prize package as the season progresses.

The 2017 LOFCRS Vice-Champion will be the recipient of a Second Place trophy, LOFCRS Nomex undershirt, and a one-day test in an F4 car.

The driver that finishes thrid will receive a Third Place trophy, and a LOFCRS Nomex undershirt

The Lucas Oil Formula Car Race Series goes green on their new races season on April 1, 2017 at Palm Beach International Raceway in Jupiter, Fla. (Photo courtesy of Lucas Oil Formula Car Race Series)

The newly formed race series that was born from the Lucas Oil School of Racing, has already proven it’s worth to the American open wheel ladder, providing the 2017 F4 United States Championship Powered by Honda with it’s top two drivers from the 2016 LOFCRS Championship.

Solar, who won five times and stood on the podium six times on the way to the title will be contesting the 2017 F4 Championship with Cape Motorsports.

Race winner and 2016 Vice Champion, Chris Archinaco recently announced that he will be joining Indy Motorsport Group, to have a run at the six event, 18 race championship.

The school’s 2.0L Elite Engine powered Ray Formula Cars GR11 also received rave reviews as the platform used to help choose the Team U.S.A. Scholarship winners, and as the car that the 20 entrants for the MRTI $200K Scholarship Shootout piloted at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca in December.

The complete schedule is below. If you want more details, and costs (including a pre-pay option that will save you 25%) check out this link. —> Lucas Oil Formula Car Race Series 

Date # of races Circuit Location
April 1-2 2 Palm Beach International Raceway Jupiter, Fla.
May 2-3 2 Road Atlanta Braselton, Ga.
June 16-17 2 Atlanta Motorsports Park Dawsonville, Ga.
July 17-18 2 National Corvette Museum Motorsports Park Bowling Green, Ky.
August 21-22 2 Autobahn Country Club Joliet, Ill.
October 3-4 2 Lime Rock Park Lakeville, Conn.
November 11-12 2 NOLA Motorsports Park Avondale, La.