USF4 logo

Kyle Kirkwood and the Primus Racing Team will go down in the motorsport annals as the inaugural pole-winner in the F4 United States Championship Powered by Honda.

Kirwood, an 18 year-old from Jupiter, Florida, who has eight races of F1600 Formula F Championship Series experience and has also won multiple karting championships, pipped JDX Racing’s Darren Keane by just over one-tenth of a second with a last lap flyer.

Keane’s JDX Racing teammate, and current Cooper Tires USF2000 Powered by Mazda rookie Cameron Das will be starting inside of the second row. The 15 year-old Das will be starting beside Michael Goodyear. Driving for Goodyear, Miller, and Vinateri Motorsports, the Carmel, Indiana native, and current Ball State University student will be making his first formula car start after a stand-out karting career.

Representing the fourth and fifth different teams that qualified within the first six positions, Konrad Czaczyk (Leading Edge Grand Prix) and Raphael Forcier (Group-A Racing) will make up the third row.  The pair of previous Skip Barber Series race winners were the last two drivers to qualify within one second of pole-sitter Kirkwood.

Only one red flag interrupted the half-hour session. Davis Durrett (Primus Racing) and Balthazar Lequizamon both had off-track excursions about ten minutes into the session. The No. 1 Momentum Motorsport machine of Lequizamon did sustain some left rear suspension damage, and the crew will have to go to work to get the Honda/Crawford ready for Race #1.

The 14 entries that are propelled by 160 HP powerplants based on those found in the Honda Civic® Type R® will be back on track at for their inaugural race at 2:25pm.

We’ll be back with much more after this afternoon’s race.

You can follow the F4 United States Championship Powered by Honda series on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.

Complete qualifying results for F4 United States Championship Powered by Honda Race #1 at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course.

1 Kyle Kirkwood Primus Racing 01:27.169
2 Darren Keane JDX Racing 01:27.296 0.127
3 Cameron Das JDX Racing 01:27.864 0.695
4 Michael Goodyear GMV Motorsports 01:27.924 0.755
5 Konrad Czaczyk Leading Edge Grand Prix 01:28.048 0.879
6 Raphael Forcier Group-A Racing 01:28.120 0.951
7 Benjamin Pedersen Leading Edge Grand Prix 01:28.438 1.269
8 Steve Bamford Bamford Motorsports/Rice Race Prep 01:28.480 1.311
9 James Goughary Jr. Primus Racing 01:28.552 1.383
10 Austin Kaszuba GMV Motorsports 01:28.561 1.392
11 Moises de la Vara Leading Edge Grand Prix 01:28.752 1.583
12 Davis Durrett Primus Racing 01:28.918 1.749
13 Baltazar Lequizamon Momentum Motorsport 01:29.912 2.743
14 Blake Mount JDX Racing 01:31.073 3.904